Global News

16 November 2020

Joan Mir becomes 2020 MotoGP World Champion
Team SUZUKI ECSTAR achieves First Team Title

Team SUZUKI ECSTAR’s Joan Mir aboard the GSX-RR finished 7th in the MotoGP class of the FIM* Road Racing Grand Prix (MotoGP) 14th round held on 15 November 2020 at the Circuit Ricardo Tormo in Spain. This made his rider’s point 171 to become the 2020 world champion with the final race remaining.
This is the first time in 20 years for the Suzuki rider to become a champion since Kenny Roberts Jr. in 2000. Also, with Alex Rins finishing 4th in the race, the team’s point became 309 to win the first team title for the Team SUZUKI ECSTAR, giving double crown for Suzuki.

*Fédération Internationale de Motocyclisme

<Comment from Toshihiro Suzuki, Representative Director and President, Suzuki Motor Corporation>

“I would like to congratulate and express my gratitude to Team SUZUKI ECSTAR and Joan Mir for winning the MotoGP World Championship in such an unprecedented tough season of COVID-19 situation in 2020.
This is Suzuki’s 100th anniversary and in this memorable year, we won the MotoGP championship, which is the world’s highest series of motorcycles racing. And motorcycle business to us is one of the key businesses our seniors started and raised in many years.
I would like to thank every customers, fans and dealers who always encouraged and supported Suzuki and all the supplier and sponsors who supported us, Davide Brivio and our team staff members, our test rider Sylvain Guintoli, Alex Rins and Joan Mir who have made excellent results and furthermore all of staff backed this activity up in Japan.
Since returning to the MotoGP, I am very proud of the team that has overcome various hardships, made steady progress year by year, and finally became the champion, and I believe this gave a great start for the next 100 years of Suzuki.”

MotoGP World Standing as of the end of 14th Round Valencia GP

  Rider Points
1 Joan Mir (Suzuki) 171
2 Franco Morbidelli (Yamaha) 142
3 Alex Rins (Suzuki) 138
  Constructor Points
1 Suzuki 201
2 Ducati 201
3 Yamaha 188
  Team Points
2 Petronas Yamaha SRT 230
3 Red Bull KTM Factory Racing 209