Endurance and Superbike Racing History
1989 New Yoshimura rider Jamie James comes in 2nd place at AMA Superbike Daytona 200-mile, and becomes series champion - the first Suzuki champion in nine years, following Wes Cooley in 1980. Scott Russell comes in 2nd for the season, making it a 1-2 ranking for Yoshimura Suzuki. Doug Polen wins round 7, race 1 of Superbike World Championship.
1988 Kevin Schwantz starts full entry in World GP. Schwantz scores his first AMA Superbike Daytona 200-mile win. Doug Polen comes in 2nd in AMA Superbike series ranking. Schwantz and Polen team up for Suzuka 8-hour Endurance Road Race and take their Yoshimura GSX-R to a 2nd-place finish. Gary Goodfellow takes the first Suzuki win at Superbike World Championship round 5, race 1. Suzuki machine/rider take 2-year consecutive World Endurance Championship manufacturer's and rider's titles.
1987 2-year consecutive All Japan Championship TT-F1 class winner Satoshi Tsujimoto takes 2nd place at AMA Superbike Daytona 200-mile, the highest finish for a Japanese rider. Kevin Schwantz scores four wins in AMA Superbike and ranks 2nd for the season. Yoshimura Suzuki's GSX-R crashes with only 10 minutes to finish at Suzuka 8-hour Endurance Road Race while leading the race by 10 seconds. The Katsuro Takayoshi/Gary Goodfellow team unfortunately has to settle for 2nd place, but finishes the season as World Endurance Championship series champion.
1986 All Japan TT-F1 champion Satoshi Tsujimoto teams up with Kevin Schwantz who would later become World GP champion, for the Suzuka 8-hour Endurance Road Race. The duo rides the Yoshimura Suzuki GSX-R750 to a 3rd-place finish. Schwantz takes 2nd place at AMA Superbike Daytona 200-mile. Suzuki wins World TT-F1 Championship manufacturer's title.
1985 Debut of the new-generation machine GSX-R750. Yoshimura's Graeme Crosby/Kevin Schwantz team takes 3rd place at Suzuka 8-hour Endurance Road Race. Rookie rider Schwantz scores three wins in AMA Superbike and is ranked 7th for the season. The GSX-R750 achieves a 1-2 finish in its World Endurance Championship debut race, the Le Mans 24-hours Endurance Race.
1984 Entry in Suzuka 8-hour Endurance Road Race with a combination of Yoshimura-tuned GSX750 engine on a Suzuki Head Office-made frame. Two machines are entered from Yoshimura but both retire due to machine troubles.
1983 Suzuki France team of Herve Moineau/Richard Hubin pilots their GS1000R to victory at the 6th Suzuka 8-hour Endurance Road Race, the last year the event was open to 1000cc machines. The team also becomes the season's World Endurance series champion.
1981 Wes Cooley rides his GS1000S to a Daytona 200-mile victory, making it a 4-year consecutive title for Yoshimura Suzuki at Daytona. Graeme Crosby wins 2-year consecutive World TT-F1 Championship series title.
1980 July

Graeme Crosby is winner at AMA Superbike Daytona. Wes Cooley wins 2-year consecutive AMA Superbike title. Graeme Crosby/Wes Cooley team take their Yoshimura Suzuki GS1000R to a pole-to-win victory at the 3rd Suzuka 8-hour Endurance Road Race, now elevated to World Championship status. Crosby also enters World TT-F1 Championship from British Suzuki and wins series title.